Student Symposium Selected Papers

Registration DetailCall For Papers

ICDCIT 2013 invites undergraduate, graduate, and PhD students to submit their research work in the area of Distributed Computing and Internet Technology to Third Student Research Symposium. The aim of Third Student Research Symposium is to provide an international forum for highlighting student research accomplishments in Distributed Computing and Internet Technology area. All topics relevant to ICDCIT, and listed in ICDCIT 2013 CFP (, are of interest to this symposium. The Symposium will provide an opportunity for students to discuss and explore their research interests and career objectives with their peers and with a panel of established researchers in Distributed Computing area. 

The symposium will be held during 5th  – 8th Feb 2013, where students of accepted papers (passed through a review process) will be invited to give a presentation on their work before a group of peers as well as Distributed Computing researchers who would offer a critique of each presentation and provide advice, and mentoring. Each student may also be invited to participate in a poster session. Submissions may either be a complete work or work in progress, with directions for future research. Authors of accepted papers have to register (Fee: National Authors - Rs. 1500 INR; International Authors - $150 USD) and present it for inclusion in the journal. First and second student research symposium papers were published in Special issue of IJCCT journal. This time the selected papers will be published in Special Issue of the Journal IJCA.


Students Symposium solicits original papers contributing to the foundations and applications of Distributed and Internet Technologies in the following broad areas:

  • Distributed Algorithms
  • Concurrency and Parallelism
  • Performance Analysis
  • Domain-Specific Architectures &  Languages
  • Secure Computing and Communication
  • Data, Service Grid Allocations & Computations
  • Cloud and P2P Systems
  • Location-Based Computing
  • Formal Methods
  • Bio Inspired Computing
  • Semantic Web
  • Service Oriented Architecture
  • Web Search & Mining
  • Information Retrieval
  • Multi-media Systems
  • QoS Analysis
  • Business Processing
  • Monitoring and Service Delivery
  • Bidding and Negotiation
  • Reputation and Trust
  • IT Infrastructures
  • Social Networking
  • Co-operative Problem Solving
  • Participatory Governance
  • Environmental Resource Management
  • Culture and Heritage
  • Management Entertainment Systems
  • Applications in Governance
  • E-Health Applications
  • E-Learning & Web 2.0
  • Communication N/W
  • N/W Security
  • Mobile N/W
  • Distributed and Advanced OS
  • Cloud Computing
  • Data Storage
  • AI and related concepts

Submission Guidelines

Intended participants must submit their technical contents that must contain the participant's name, affiliation, advisor's name (if known), theme of research, degrees obtained so far, current status in their degree, and expected graduation date. The write-up should be a concise description of the problem statement, scientific and technical approach, and the results obtained so far. Sufficient information should be provided for the chairs and the review board to judge the merit of the research. The submissions should be in PDF format. The write up should be presented in IEEE format with page limit not more than 6 pages and the papers should be submitted electronically through easychair.

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline: October 14th 2012 (Closed)

Paper acceptance notification: November 14th 2012

Final Camera ready paper submission: December 7th 2012

Program Committee

  • Ajay Kumar Bisoi, KIIT University, Bhubaneswar
  • Sudarsan Padhy, IMA, Bhubaneswar
  • C. R. Tripathy, VSSUT, Burla
  • Manas Ranjan Patra, Berhampur University, Berhampur
  • Sachidananda Dehuri, F. M. University, Balasore
  • Prafulla Kumar Behera, Utkal University, Odisha
  • Madhabananda Das, KIIT University, Bhubaneswar
  •  Sandeep Banerjee, Cisco Systems, Bangalore
  • Rajiv Misra, IIT Patna
  • Narayanan Venkateswaran, Oracle, Bangalore
  • Muralidharan Narayanan, Motorola Mobility.
  • Timo Kiravuo, Aalto University.

Research Symposium Co-Chairs

  • Abhishek Thakur, BITS Pilani Hyderabad Campus
  • Jnyanaranjan Mohanty, KIIT University,  Bhubaneswar

CFP Download


Site designed and maintained by KIIT University